The easiest way to combat DUI charges in Washington state is to never have to face them in the first place. If you're planning on going out and having a drink, do it responsibly. Travel in a group where one is chosen to be the designated driver. If you're traveling alone, choose a location that's within walking distance, or call a taxi or ride-share service, such as Uber or Lyft, to drive you to your destination.
There may, however, be times when you may grab a drink when you weren't planning on it. If this results in you being arrested for DUI anywhere in Washington, understand that it is in your best interests to fight such a charge. The consequences from a DUI arrest can be far-reaching. On top of the criminal charge you’ll face, you can lose your driver’s license for anywhere between 3 months to 3 years.
If you're stopped for suspicion of DUI, be prepared to be asked to submit to field sobriety testing. Ask any DUI lawyer in Bellevue, and he or she will reaffirm that you don't have to consent to such tests. Know too, however, that will likely result in your arrest. Once you've been arrested, Washington's implied consent laws require that you undergo chemical testing of your blood, breath, or urine.
An arrest for DUI in Washington can be daunting, yet don't panic; there are ways to successfully combat those charges. Sobriety test results can be challenged, and biological facts regarding the body's alcohol metabolism rate can often work in your favor. Just remember to keep a level head throughout the ordeal; losing your temper with a law enforcement officer can easily result in you facing additional criminal charges.